It’s NDAM and we’re spreading the love

We’re halfway through National Diabetes Awareness Month (NDAM), and the JDRF Game2Give community has already raised more than $30K for life-changing type 1 diabetes (T1D) research. Go team!

Read on to see how we’re celebrating NDAM on Twitch, how Match Makers are helping us reach our $40K fundraising goal, and how JDRF Game2Give is spreading the love—literally.

National Diabetes Awareness Month Sponsored by Ascensia Diabetes Care

NDAM Content on Twitch

We’re raising T1D awareness this month with a series of special streams on the JDRF Twitch channel. Here’s what’s coming up:

  • UPDATES IN T1D: Our gamer pal Brian Herrick, Director Marketing & Communications at JDRF, joins us to chat successes in the T1D research space, at JDRF, and more! Tune in November 16 (today!) at 10:00 a.m. PT / 1:00 p.m. ET / 6:00 p.m. GMT on twitch.tv/JDRF.
  • WORLD GOLF TOUR TOURNAMENT: Community member Patch Notes and WGT pros face off in this year’s online JDRF golf tournament. Tune in November 18 on twitch.tv/WGTGolf at 12:30 p.m. PT / 3:30 p.m. ET / 8:30 p.m. GMT.
  • T1D TUESDAY: Our community manager Monique will hang out with Ascensia Diabetes Care ambassadors Giann and Trevor to chat about their T1D experiences. Tune in November 21 on twitch.tv/JDRF at 12:00 p.m. PT / 3:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. GMT.

All of our NDAM streams are archived on Twitch, if you miss them live.

We also have almost 100 community members streaming on their own channels throughout the month. Check out the full schedule on our website.

NDAM Match Makers

Thanks to this year’s NDAM sponsor Ascensia Diabetes Care—the company that brings the adult T1D community the Eversense E3 CGM System (the only long-term CGM!)—some of our favorite Ready Type 1 Ambassadors are hopping into fellow NDAM charity streams with donation matches.

Follow three easy steps, and one of our Match Makers might visit your stream to help you smash your fundraising goals!

Shows a limited edition Rufus streaming pin (a cartoon bear holding a controller) next to a quarter coin as a size reference.

Rufus Loves Donations

As a special NDAM treat, we’ll send a limited edition Rufus streaming pin to people who donate $50 or more during NDAM. To get yours, donate to our JDRF Game2Give staff campaign and select the TwitchCon Rufus Pin during checkout.

FUNDRAISERS: This offer extends to your donors too. Add this reward in your Tiltify Dashboard (go to Campaign > Incentives > Rewards) and we’ll take care of shipping the pins once the NDAM fundraiser ends.

Shows a limited edition Rufus streaming pin (a cartoon bear holding a controller) next to a quarter coin as a size reference.

Rufus Loves Donations

As a special NDAM treat, we’ll send a limited edition Rufus streaming pin to people who donate $50 or more during NDAM. To get yours, donate to our JDRF Game2Give staff campaign and select the TwitchCon Rufus Pin during checkout.

FUNDRAISERS: This offer extends to your donors too. Add this reward in your Tiltify Dashboard (go to Campaign > Incentives > Rewards) and we’ll take care of shipping the pins once the NDAM fundraiser ends.

RaeBae and Krillin (Sitting in a Tree)

RaeBae and Krillin drinking champagne

Back in 2020, RaeBae joined Twitch looking for connection and community during COVID-19 lockdown. Having done JDRF One Walks and advocacy as a kid, she got involved with JDRF Game2Give just in time for our NDAM fundraiser.

To prepare for her charity streams, Rae started checking out other Ready Type 1 Ambassadors’ channels, including Krillin’s. They started chatting, one thing led to another, and in March 2022 they finally met up IRL. Love at first sight? It was something like that…

Krillin proposing to RaeBae
RaeBae showing off her ring
Krillin proposing and RaeBae showing off her ring

After a year of visits alternating between Massachusetts and New York, they decided to level up and move in together this spring. Last month, Krillin popped the question—and RaeBae said yes!

So we’re all invited to the wedding, right? After all, Rufus looks dashing in a tux.

Keep In Touch

Want to receive our newsletter straight to your inbox every month? Scroll down to the bottom of the page and subscribe!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Keep in Touch

Stay Connected with Our Community

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter and we’ll let you know about upcoming fundraisers, news, and community events.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
JDRF Game2Give® is a program within JDRF, the leading global type 1 diabetes (T1D) research and advocacy organization.
© 2024 JDRF Game2Give

Follow on: